Seguin Island, Showplace of Western Paris regional culture

SEGUIN ISLAND , ITS HISTORY

L’Île Seguin or Seguin Island – a natural island in the Seine, like those of Île de la Cité and Île Saint Louis in Paris - has a 20th century legacy largely shaped by automaker Renault’s industrial influence (former factories in Boulogne- Billancourt) which permanently left the area in 1992. Seguin Island, however, still has its place in the history of Paris, dating back to the Middle Ages.

IleSeguin moyen âge - C. R4SMALL

In fact, starting from the mid-12th century, it belongs to the Saint-Victor Abbey, which developed a business of cutting willows and wicker, which grow in abundance. In the 17th century, a new route is built linking the capital to Versailles. In 1684, a bridge is built, which crosses Seguin Island, allowing the royal procession to travel faster between the court and the city.

In the 18th century, the "industrial" period begins when for a short time the island hosted a laundry service for Parisian hospitals. Abandoned during the Revolutionary period, it has the legal status of a national asset and serves as a depot for sick horses.

Seguin Island’s name comes from the personality of Armand Seguin (1767-1835), tannery chemist and entrepreneur. By 1801, his business employs 400 leather workers on the island, working the material in all its forms.

Though industrial and devoid of urbanization, Seguin Island is a favorite motif for artists throughout the 19th century; they capture the Seine’s changing reflections, its shores wooded and wild, light playing off the water. Paul Huet, Corot, Sisley, Jongkind, and Bracquemond Turner, among others, transcribe the magical moments of a nature peaceful and in transition. The presence of artists foreshadows the island’s adoption by city-dwellers seeking a break who come to relax in this rustic setting to enjoy pastime leisures combining swimming, rowing with renoiresque picnics on the grass.

Sold by plots in the early 20th century, the island serves as a location for various technical experiments: hydrofoil tests, gliders and seaplanes.

ILE SEGUIN en 1932
Founded in 1899, the Renault Frères Company develops at the speed of an escapist’s dream, which foreshadows the coming of the automobile. Billancourt’s first factories fail to measure up to Louis Renault’s demands and ambitions who in 1919 sets off in the conquest of Seguin Island, to build a "factory showcase." River bank consolidation, raising the island’s level, building first one bridge and then a second, altering the ground on which the plants are built, setting up the latest equipment and generalizing the assembly line. Dismantled in 1974, the Renault factories will permanently close their doors in 1992 with a final farewell drive-by - and it was a memorable image – of the last car built on the site.

(Sources: http://www.r4-ileseguin.com )

THE ISLAND AND ITS MANY FACETS

The Pavilion on Seguin Island

Designed in partnership with ATRIS, AMETIS AND SHGR associations, the Pavilion on the Seguin Island is an exhibition space open to the public, dedicated to the past, the present and the future of this exceptional site that is the Seguin Island.

On 300 square meters, it presents a wide chronological fresco describing all the stages of the island’s evolution from the Middle Ages through to 2018.

Click on the image to access our page dedicated to the Pavilion on Île Seguin

Pavillon sur l'Ile Seguin Small

Garden on Seguin Island

Sprawling over 2 hectares, this garden contains an extraordinary secret: its drawings are based on old Renault factory layouts. Designed by landscape architect Michel Desvigne *, we walk in the gardens of a thousand species (including willows) gradually discovering and against all expectations that it is the island’s reminder of its industrial past.

*Winner of the 1986 competition of the Academy of France in Rome at the Villa Medici, Michel Desvigne is one of the world’s most famous landscape architects.

Click ICI to access our page dedicated to the garden of Seguin Island.

Jardin ile seguin

 

How to get there

Useful information

Access
Contact
    • District 3 - Billancourt - Banks of the Seine

      Access
      - Pedestrians and cyclists: from the Renault Bridge from Boulogne -Billancourt and Seibert Bridge from Meudon
      - M9: Metro station Pont de Sèvres or Billancourt
      - T2: station Brimborion
      - Bus: 160, 169, 171, 179, 279, 291, 389, 467, 26 Pont de Sèvres station
    • For general information, please contact

      SAEM VAL DE SEINE AMÉNAGEMENT
      696, rue Yves KERMEN
      92100 Boulogne-Billancourt
      T +33(0)1 46 08 83 83
      F +33(0)1 46 08 83 99
      Email adress
      Website

      For all information regarding the R4: Email adress

THE SEGUIN ISLAND OF TOMORROW, WE’RE OFF !

The Seine Musicale

 

A unique facility in Europe


The construction of the Seine Musicale is one of the flagship projects of the Hauts-de -Seine Valley of the Culture. This complex is a unique project in France and Europe. Its cultural significance is intended reach far beyond the Hauts-de-Seine establishing a national and international reputation. "The City of Music will be the gateway to the Valley of Culture", said Patrick Devedjian, MP and Chairman of the General Council of Hauts-de -Seine.

The Seine Musicale will be located at a point downstream of Seguin Island on a 2.35 hectare single tenant plot of land with the General Council as the owner. The whole program development covers nearly 280 meters along the Seine. Its morphology is involved in defining the general shape of the island and its position at the forefront gives it an iconic status. The Seine Musicale’s requirements assessment helped define a program of 36,500 m2.

For more information, visit: http://cite-musicale-ile-seguin.hauts-de-seine.net/


Read in the Press

  Click on the pictures to read the article

entreprendre1blanksmall

entreprendre2blanksmall

L'Île Seguin, nouveau haut lieu de la culture de l'Ouest Francilien

L’ÎLE SEGUIN, SON HISTOIRE

L’Île Seguin - île naturelle de la Seine, comme celle de la Cité et de Saint-Louis à Paris - a une histoire façonnée au 20e siècle par l’emprise industrielle de Renault (anciennes usines de Boulogne-Billancourt) qui a quitté définitivement les lieux en 1992. L’Île Seguin a toutefois sa place dans l’histoire de Paris, et cela depuis le Moyen Age.

IleSeguin moyen âge - C. R4SMALL

En effet, elle appartient, à partir du milieu du 12e siècle, à l’abbaye Saint-Victor, qui développe l’exploitation de la coupe des saules et d’osiers qui poussent en abondance. Au 17e siècle, une nouvelle route est tracée pour relier la capitale à Versailles. Un pont est construit en 1684, qui traverse l’Île Seguin et permet ainsi au cortège royal de voyager plus rapidement entre la cour et la ville.

Au 18e siècle, débute la période «industrielle» de l’île lorsqu’elle devient, pour un temps bref, une buanderie au service des hôpitaux parisiens. Abandonnée à l’époque de la Révolution, elle a le statut juridique d’un bien national et sert de dépôt pour les chevaux malades.

Le nom de l’Île Seguin provient de la personnalité d’Armand Seguin (1767-1835), chimiste et entrepreneur de tannerie. En 1801, on dénombre quelque 400 ouvriers sur l’île, qui travaillent le cuir sous toutes ses formes.

Même industrielle et dénuée d’urbanisation, l’Île Seguin constitue un motif de prédilection pour les artistes tout au long du 19e siècle. Ceux-ci saisissent les reflets changeant de la Seine, ses berges arborées et sauvages, les jeux d’eau et de lumière. Paul Huet, Corot, Sisley, Jongkind, Turner et Bracquemond, entre autres, transcrivent les instants magiques d’une nature changeante et paisible. La présence des artistes préfigure l’adoption de l’île par les citadins flâneurs qui viennent profiter de loisirs champêtres mêlant le bain, la voile et l’aviron aux déjeuners sur l’herbe.

Vendue par parcelles au début du 20e siècle, l’île offre l’espace nécessaire à différentes expérimentations techniques: essais d’hydroglisseurs, de planeurs, d’hydravions.

ILE SEGUIN en 1932
Fondée en 1899, la Société Renault Frères se développe à la vitesse du rêve d’évasion que promet l’automobile. Les premières usines à Billancourt ne satisfont pas toutes les commandes et les ambitions de Louis Renault. Celui-ci part à la conquête de l’Île Seguin dès 1919, en vue d’y construire une «usine vitrine». Consolidation des berges, surélévation du niveau de l’île, construction d’un premier pont puis d’un second, refondent le territoire sur lequel les usines sont construites, dotées d’équipements ultramodernes et généralisant le travail à la chaîne. Démantelées en 1974, les usines Renault fermeront définitivement leurs portes en 1992 en laissant passer - et ce fut une image mémorable - la dernière voiture construite sur le site.

(Sources: http://www.r4-ileseguin.com )

L’ÎLE ET SES MULTIPLES FACETTES

Pavillon sur l'Île Seguin

Conçu en partenariat avec les associations ATRIS, AMETIS ET SHGR, le Pavillon sur l'île Seguin est un lieu d'exposition ouvert à tous, dédié à l'histoire, au présent et à l'avenir du ce site d'exception qu'est l'Île Seguin.

Sur 300 m², il présente une grande fresque chronologique qui décrit toutes les étapes de l'évolution de l'île depuis le Moyen-âge jusqu'à 2018.

Cliquez sur l'image pour accéder à notre page dédiée au Pavillon sur l'Île Seguin

Pavillon sur l'Ile Seguin Small

Jardin sur l'Île Seguin

S’étendant sur 2 hectares, ce jardin recèle un secret extraordinaire : ses dessins s’inspirent des anciens plans de l’usine Renault. Conçu par le paysagiste Michel Desvigne*, on se promène dans ce jardins aux mille essences (notamment des saules) en découvrant progressivement et contre toute attente qu’il est la mémoire industrielle de l’île.

* Lauréat 1986 du concours de l’Académie de France à Rome, pensionnaire de la Villa Médicis, Michel Desvigne est l’un des paysagistes les plus connus dans le monde.
Cliquez ICI pour accéder à notre page dédiée au jardin de l'Île Seguin.

Jardin ile seguin

 

S'y rendre

L’ÎLE SEGUIN DE DEMAIN, C’EST PARTI !

La Seine Musicale

Un équipement unique en Europe

La construction de la Seine Musicale musicale est l'un des projets phares de la Vallée de la Culture des Hauts-de-Seine. Cet ensemble est un projet unique en France et en Europe. Au-delà des Hauts-de- Seine, il a vocation à rayonner nationalement et internationalement. « La Seine Musicale sera la porte d'entrée de la Vallée de la Culture » déclare Patrick Devedjian, Député et Président du Conseil général des Hauts-de-Seine.

 

La Seine Musicale sera implantée en pointe aval de l'Île Seguin, sur une emprise d'un seul tenant de 2,35 hectares dont le Conseil général est propriétaire. L'ensemble du programme se développe sur près de 280 mètres le long de la Seine. Sa morphologie participe à la définition de la silhouette générale de l'île et sa position à la pointe lui confère un statut emblématique. L'estimation des besoins de la Cité musicale a permis de définir un programme de 36 500 m².

 

Plus d'information: http://www.laseinemusicale.com/fr/

Informations pratiques

Accès
Contact
    • Quartier 3 - Billancourt - Rives de Seine

      Accès
      - Piétons et cyclistes: par le Pont Renault depuis Boulogne-Billancourt et par le Pont Seibert depuis Meudon
      - M9: Station Pont de Sèvres ou Billancourt
      - T2: station Brimborion
      - Bus: 160, 169, 171, 179, 279, 291, 389, 467, 26 station Pont de Sèvres
    • Pour toute information générale, contactez:

      SAEM VAL DE SEINE AMÉNAGEMENT
      696, rue Yves KERMEN
      92100 Boulogne-Billancourt
      T +33(0)1 46 08 83 83
      F +33(0)1 46 08 83 99
      Contact mail
      Site internet

      Pour toute information sur le R4: Contact mail